---
title: Reset to factory settings
description: "In very rare cases it might be necessary to reset your eBlocker to the factory settings. **Please note that you must re-enter your license key after restoring to the factory settings.** ## Factory reset via eBlocker Settings If you can…"
url: "https://eblocker.org/en/docs/reset-to-factory-settings/"
updated: "2021-09-09"
category: User Manual / System
tags:
  - Help
  - Needs revision
---

# Reset to factory settings

In very rare cases it might be necessary to reset your eBlocker to the factory settings.

**Please note that you must re-enter your license key after restoring to the factory settings.**

## Factory reset via eBlocker Settings

If you can access the eBlocker settings, go to the eBlocker "[Settings](https://eblocker.org/en/docs/the-eblocker-settings/)> System menu". Use the tab "Factory reset", with the corresponding button for resetting the factory settings. This function is available for eBlockerOS 1.14 and higher.

## Factory reset via USB stick

For eBlockerOS version below 1.14 or in case you can no longer access the eBlocker settings, you need a USB stick (FAT16 or FAT32 formatted. **Note: Other formats, like Ex-Fat, HFS+ or such will not work!**).

**Reset via USB also helps in case you forgot the administrator password and the standard procedure for the password reset is not working for you.**

Please follow these steps:

- Create an empty file named "*eblocker-factory-reset.txt*" on the USB stick.
- Disconnect the eBlocker from the power supply.
- Connect the USB stick to the lower USB port of the eBlocker.
  ![USB-FR-eBlocker.jpg](https://eblocker.org/wp-content/uploads/docs/360004553934-USB-FR-eBlocker.jpg)
- Connect the eBlocker to the power supply.
- Now the factory settings will be restored. After approx. 5 minutes the eBlocker should power off (no LED activity).
- Remove the USB stick and restart the eBlocker by briefly disconnecting the power.

**Attention**: After restoring the factory settings, your license activation and all individual settings are deleted
