Please check out the English help page (or the German Hilfe) first before posting.
eOS 2.4 only: Mac and iOS users please read this article in case of certificate issues.

Notifications
Clear all

eBlocker running in VMware or Docker  

RSS

Hello,

I would like to run the eBlocker in a VMware or Docker version.

Is that possible ?

Greeting Dalle

8 Answers

We had an internal project called "eBlocker Desktop" where we installed eBlocker in a VM succesfully. It worked in general but we had issues binding the network adapter correctly after restarts - if I remember right (I'm not a programmer).

We finally gave up on the idea to focus on a low engery "always on" device rather than a power consuming PC. But I would guess that some talented developer can take this further...

The core eBlocker code is in Java running on Linux - so it can be ported quite easily to other platforms.  

Hello,

it would be fine to have an eBlocker docker image für Raspberry pi (armhf).

So it could be used without extra hardware besides other security docker containers (reverse proxy, and so on).

Thank you

Regards

Thorsten

@guny74

I‘ve consolidated all threads on docker/vm here and merged your post in the „all in“ thread.

a docker image is a nice feature 🙂 

PIO

Yes, i think it is possible. I try to built an ISO-File from the installationfile. The attemps that I try failed at the moment. A Raspberry installation on VMWare works fine.
If I have a solution, I'm going to post it here.

I hope you can understand my english it is not so good.

May this installationguide is helpfull for try & error 🙂

https://webnist.de/wie-man-raspberry-pi-desktop-unter-virtualbox-einrichtet/

best regards
Sven

I would like to run eBlocker as a virtual machine.
Has anyone done this?
Is it even possible?
If it is not possible, will it be possible in the future?

VM ist good, better and more simple may be a Docker-Image, to use it in a Synology DSM.